Montreal Bike Lanes: Open for the Winter?

For reals?

For the past week or so, every time I take the Maisonneuve bike path through Westmount I feel like I’m cheating fate.  I pass signs that declare the path will close on November 15th, but it’s still open.  Today, the Westmount City Council suggested they might keep the path open during the winter.  At the very least it looks like the lane will stay open until the first big snowfall, and that could be January.

Get out and ride it while you can.

3 Responses to “Montreal Bike Lanes: Open for the Winter?”


  1. 1 herve 27/11/2009 at 9:35 am

    That’s funny, I had the same feeling with the Rachel bike path (between Lafontaine and Saint Laurent where there are some concrete dividers, but not all the way).
    I checked yesterday, there’s not even a sign saying that it’ll be closed passed Nov. 15th, but some assholes use it to park their car (I told a guy 2 days ago that bike paths are made for bikes, not for car to park … he answered “There’s a parking meter so I can park my car …. damn idiot, you can park it outside the bike lane, not on it.)

    Anyway, we still have to be careful. Some drivers take advantage that because the bike paths are supposed to be closed, they feel we don’t have the right to use our bikes. Just yesterday a guy chased me on 3 blocks yelling “I’m the one to decide if there is a bike path” and threatening me.

    Ride safe !!!

  2. 2 youaretheengine 28/11/2009 at 10:56 pm

    Let’s hope the stay open. And that you stop getting yelled at. That’s crazy. I enjoyed the lanes yesterday, though I got soaked.

    I suppose the snow removal will be the make-or-break factor. Fingers crossed!

  3. 3 acwestmount 12/01/2010 at 2:10 pm

    Hi! I just thought you might be interested in knowing that the Westmount Cycling Association is currently lobbying hard at the Westmount city council to have the Westmount portion of the de Maisonneuve bike path open year-round. Members of our Assocation have been attending every council meeting and asking questions regarding the bike path.

    You can check out our website with updates on the situation in Westmount and our activities: http://acw-wca.org/

    To become a member of the WCA, send an email to info@acw-wca.org. It’s free and you don’t have to be a Westmount resident. There is strength in numbers!

    Thanks for vocalising your views on this issue- the more winter cyclists there are out there asking for the necessary infrastructure, the sooner it will come!

    Natalie
    WCA Secretary


Leave a Reply

