Braving the Cold: Ottawa

The beard helps.

It’s currently raining in Montreal, and the forecast calls for an 8 degree (Celsius) day.  This is hardly the weather for winter riding, unless you’re in Vancouver.  However, later this week it is going to get cold, and I’m sure we’ll soon be buried under snow yet again.

Like Montreal, Ottawa is known for cold and snow.  Over the past few years, however, more and more cyclists are riding all year round.  The Ottawa Citizen has a story about winter cycling and its increasing popularity, and they got a couple of quotes from the fine people at Fat Moose Cycles.  Fat Moose is a fantastic LBS, just in case you ever find yourself in Ottawa.

The article suggests, quite reasonably, that winter cycling is not as difficult as people assume.  Especially this winter.  Thanks El Nino.

2 Responses to “Braving the Cold: Ottawa”


  1. 1 marty 01/02/2010 at 3:21 pm

    I am about to read the article but I agree, cold weather riding isnt that bad. I do about 30km r/t for work in chicago and after the first 10 min. i’m sweating my a$$ off. This is when it is about 0ºF out!

  2. 2 youaretheengine 02/02/2010 at 10:57 am

    30km every day in Chicago. And it gets cold there. Badass. I agree, the hardest part is just maintaining a good temperature. Any tightly-guarded secrets? I just let merino wool do the work for me, and hope that nobody minds that I have to walk around in a base layer before I can put my hoodie back on. It helps that I don’t have a real job.


Leave a Reply

